BOARD OF SUPERVISORS AGENDA ITEM REPORT



Requested Board Meeting Date: January 14, 2020

Title: Precinct Committeemen Appointments and Resignations

Introduction/Background:

Precinct committeemen are elected at the primary election during each even-numbered year. According to A.R.S. section 16-821 B, if a vacancy exists in the office of precinct committeeman, the Board of Supervisors may fill the vacancy upon recommendation from the county chair of the appropriate political party. If a previously elected or appointed precinct committeeman resigns or moves from his or her precinct, a resignation is submitted by the party chair for approval by the Board of Supervisors and the position becomes vacant.

Discussion:

The following resignations and appointments have been submitted by the appropriate party chairman for approval:

RESIGNATION-PRECINCT-PARTY

Elizabeth R. Morgan-021-DEM Margaret "Peggy" Hansen-024-DEM Stephen M. Birdman-088-DEM Tom Cuevas-186-DEM Morgan Abraham-230-DEM

APPOINTMENT-PRECINCT-PARTY

Beth G. Smith-012-DEM
Stephanie S. Hamilton-082-DEM
Carol F. Casey-084-DEM
Shirley Matlick-088-DEM
Alan W. Gilbert-106-DEM
Barbara L. Gilbert-106-DEM
John-Robert W. Granger-185-DEM
Alissa G. Rothpletz-191-DEM
André P. Mixon-229-DEM

Conclusion:					
By approving the above resignations and appointments, the Board of Supervisors and the Elections Department will be in compliance with A.R.S. section 16-821 B.					
Recommendation: The Elections Department recommends approval of the resignations and appointments put forth by the county chairmen.					
Fiscal Impact:					
None.					
Board of Supervisor District:					
□ 1	□ 2	□ 3	□ 4	□ 5	⊠ AII
Department: Elections Telephone: 724-6830					
Contact:	ntact: Anne Lillie Telephone: 724-6869				
Department Director Signature/Date:					

Deputy County Administrator Signature/Date:

County Administrator Signature/Date: