Anzonh

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS AGENDA ITEM REPORT

Requested Board Meeting Date: October 16, 2018

Title: Precinct Committeemen Appointments and Resignations

Introduction/Background:

Precinct committeemen are elected at the primary election during each even-numbered year. According to A.R.S. section 16-821 B, if a vacancy exists in the office of precinct committeeman, the Board of Supervisors may fill the vacancy upon recommendation from the county chair of the appropriate political party. If a previously elected or appointed precinct committeeman resigns or moves from his or her precinct, a resignation is submitted by the party chair for approval by the Board of Supervisors and the position becomes vacant.

Discussion:

The following appointments have been submitted by the appropriate party chairman for approval:

APPOINTMENT-PRECINCT-PARTY

Donald J. Osborne-009-REP
John F. Van De Beuken-012-REP
Shirley M. Harvey-048-REP
Shuron T. Harvey-048-REP
Frederick Harvey-048-REP
Stephen A. Marten-125-REP
George S. Kundert-129-REP
Melissa F. Grable-174-REP
Charles M. Hicks-182-REP
Edwin L. Biggers-211-REP
Marc S. Toth-211-REP

Conclusion:

By approving the above resignations and appointments, the Board of Supervisors and the Elections Department will be in compliance with A.R.S. section 16-821 B.

Recommendation:

The Elections Department recommends approval of the resignations and appointments put forth by the county chairmen.

Fiscal Impact:

None.

| □ 1 | □ 2 | □ 3 | □ 4 | □ 5 | ⊠ AII | |
|---|-----|-----|------------|---------------------|-------|--|
| Department: Elections | | | | Telephone: 724-6830 | | |
| Contact: Anne Lillie | | | Te | Telephone: 724-6869 | | |
| Department Director Signature/Date: Track Class | | | | | | |
| Deputy County Administrator Signature/Date: | | | | | | |
| County Administrator Signature/Date: | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | |

Board of Supervisor District: