BOARD OF SUPERVISORS AGENDA ITEM REPORT



Requested Board Meeting Date: October 6, 2015

Title: Precinct Committeemen Appointments and Resignations

Introduction/Background:

Precinct committeemen are elected at the primary election during each even-numbered year. According to A.R.S. section 16-821 B, if a vacancy exists in the office of precinct committeeman, the Board of Supervisors may fill the vacancy upon recommendation from the county chair of the appropriate political party. If a previously elected or appointed precinct committeeman resigns or moves from his or her precinct, a resignation is submitted by the party chair for approval by the Board of Supervisors and the position becomes vacant.

Discussion:

The following resignations and appointments have been submitted by the appropriate party chairmen for approval:

RESIGNATION-PRECINCT-PARTY

Michael D. Sheridan-042-DEM Timothy Adam Ragan-044-DEM Martha K. Sowerwine-057-DEM

APPOINTMENT-PRECINCT-PARTY

Timothy Adam Ragan-018-DEM Cynthia R. Saxon-021-DEM Kyle J. O'Brien-042-DEM Joyce L. Barnes-075-DEM Courtney N. Frogge-121-DEM Caroline A. Salcido-203-DEM Warren W. Deming-228-DEM Angharad S. Daly-239-DEM Jesse Ryan-132-REP Paul D. Jackson-214-REP

Conclusion:
By approving the above resignations and appointments, the Board of Supervisors and the Elections Department will be in compliance with A.R.S. section 16-821 B.
Recommendation:
The Elections Department recommends approval of the resignations and appointments put forth by the county chairmen.
Fiscal Impact:
None
Board of Supervisor District:
□ 1 □ 2 □ 3 □ 4 □ 5 ⊠ AII
Department: Elections Telephone: 724-6869
Department Director Signature/Date: Srael Albert
Deputy County Administrator Signature/Date:
County Administrator Signature/Date: